Model specification and extraction of layer-specific partitions in LayeredBlockState when overlap=True

Hello,

I'm studying political coalitions over time (three time slices) and across discrete types of relationships (collaboration, ideological similarity, and discursive similarity). Since graph-tool offers (the only) principled approach that does not require arbitrary user-specified parameters (such as 'resolution' or 'coupling'), I would very much like to use it for my analysis.

I'm trying to fit a SBM to a graph with edges divided into distinct layers (three time slices X three types of relationships). Each edge has a discrete weight in the range of [0, 3], with weight referring to the 'strength' of the relationship. Not all nodes participate in all layers.

I'm interested in how/if the block membership varies across layers that I expect to be somewhat dependent on one another (hence I would like to avoid fitting a separate SBM to each layer). In my ideal scenario, I would be using the NestedBlockState with LayeredBlockState as base and allowing for overlaps across layers:

state=NestedBlockState(g, base_type=LayeredBlockState, state_args=dict(deg_corr=True, overlap=True, layers=True, ec=g.ep.layer, recs=[g.ep.weight], rec_types=["discrete-binomial"]))

dS, nmoves=0, 0
for i in range(100):
    ret=state.multiflip_mcmc_sweep(niter=10)
    dS+=ret[0]
    nmoves+=ret[1]

print("Change in description length:", dS)
print("Number of accepted vertex moves:", nmoves)

mcmc_equilibrate(state, wait=1000, mcmc_args=dict(niter=10), verbose=True)

bs=[]
def collect_partitions(s):
   global bs
   bs.append(s.get_bs())

mcmc_equilibrate(state, force_niter=10000, mcmc_args=dict(niter=10), verbose=True, callback=collect_partitions)

pm=PartitionModeState(bs, nested=True, converge=True)
pv=pm.get_marginal(g)

bs=pm.get_max_nested()
state=state.copy(bs=bs)

Two questions:

Q1)